Cheryl L. West

Play(s) in the PNA Catalog

> Last Stop on Market Street
> Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy
> Mwindo
> Akeelah and the Bee


Cheryl L. West's plays include: Last Stop on Market Street, Akeelah & the Bee, Mwindo, Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, Addy: American Girl Story, and Pullman Porter Blues. Her plays have been seen in England, Off-Broadway, on Broadway (Play On!) and in numerous regional theaters around the country. She has written TV and film projects at Disney, Paramount, MTV Films, Showtime, TNT, HBO, CBS and is the Webby-nominated writer for the original web series Diary of a Single Mom. Ms. West is the recipient of several awards: American Alliance For Theatre & Education (AATE) Distinguished Play Award (2016), the 2016 Charlotte B. Chorpenning Playwright Award, the Helen Hayes/Charles McArthur award for outstanding new play, the Susan Smith Blackburn prize, an international playwriting award for distinguished new plays, the National Endowment Playwriting Award and the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Best Playwright Award. As said by The L Magazine, "Cheryl L. West writes plays that often trump those of master playwright August Wilson - not only meticulous neo-realist slices of African-American life, but dense, ethereal explorations of language and the inner regions of her character's souls. They are vigorously expressionistic, and yet remain grounded, entertaining theater."